Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee

The purpose of the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (BPAC) is to:
  1. Make recommendations to the City Commission consistent with the policies and objectives set forth in the Bicycle and Pedestrian Master Plan.
  2. Advise the Bicycle/Pedestrian Coordinator and City staff as to the determination of bicycle and pedestrian routes and help to establish project priorities.
  3. Support community partnerships that plan, develop, promote, and coordinate community cycling, walking, and active commuting activities.
  4. Develop goals and work plans regarding activities of the BPAC.
  5. Review proposals from individual associations or other institutions for joint programs and assist in effective coordination of such activities, when applicable.
The Committee consists of ten people appointed by the mayor with the advice and consent of the City Commission. The members represent Kansas State University, Riley County Police Department, Riley County, Pottawatomie County (someone who resides within the Manhattan Urban Area boundary), Riley County Health Department. a representative of Manhattan's business community who currently owns and/or operates a business within the Manhattan community, and four at-large members representing the citizenry of Manhattan

Appointments are for three-year periods and run from Nov. 1 through Oct. 31.

For more information on Manhattan’s continued growth into a bicycle and pedestrian friendly community, visit our Bicycle and Pedestrian Information page.
View the 2020 Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Board Schedule

Bike Month update

15 April 2020

Due to the stay-at-home orders there will probably not be many if any Bike Month activities in May. If all goes well, there has been some discussion of holding a local bike month observance this fall, perhaps in October. We’ll try to keep you up to date on developments as they happen.

Staff Liaison

John Adam, Senior Planner
e-mail John Adam

Additional Information

Interested in being a member of the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee?


The committee meets the third Friday of each month at 8:15 a.m. in the City Commission Room, City Hall, 1101 Poyntz Ave.

Note that BPAC meetings will be suspended for the time being. During this City Hall shutdown, the policy is that no board or committee will meet unless "critical action" needs to be taken (updated 4/15/2020)


  • David Colburn, Chair (At-Large)
    • (11/01/18-10/31/21)
  • Joseph Edmunds, Vice-Chair (Riley County)
    • (11/01/17-10/31/20)
  • Nancy Baker (At-Large)
    • (01/21/20-10/31/21)
  • Annie Cook (At-Large)
    • (11/05/19-10/31/22)
  • Kevin Fateley (Pottawatomie County)
    • (02/19/19-10/31/21)
  • Brian Hardeman, (Manhattan Business Community)
    • (11/01/18-10/31/21)
  • Ed Kalas (Riley County Health Department)
    • (11/01/19-10/31/22)
  • Seth Scobee (Riley County Police Department)
    • (11/01/17-10/31/20)
  • Carol Sevin (Kansas State University)
    • (04/17/18-10/31/20)
  • Chris Spooner (At-Large)
    • (01/21/20-10/31/22)