Community Support Funds Advisory Board

Community Support Funds Advisory Board

The Community Support Funds Advisory Board (CSFAB) makes annual recommendations to the City Commission on how to distribute and grant the funds to agencies and organizations providing social services in the city, as well as recommending grants for use of special alcohol funds to agencies and organizations.

CSFAB has completed 2024 funding recommendations, which have been considered and finalized by the City Commission as of November 21, 2024. Funding considerations for 2025 will occur in the summer of 2024. 

2024 Funding

At the June 27 City Commission meeting, the governing body gave direction to allocate the following CSFAB funding for the 2024 budget:

  • $557,500 in Social Services Funding from the City's General Fund; and
  • $515,500 in Special Alcohol Funding from the City's Special Alcohol Fund

Social Service Funding is what was previously allocated by the Social Services Advisory Board (SSAB). Special Alcohol Funding is what was previously allocated by the Special Alcohol Funds Advisory Committee (SAFAC). If Special Alcohol Funding is being requested, funds must be used as defined in Kansas Statute No. 79-41a04.

The application period closed as of Friday, August 11 at 11:59 pm. Interviews with special alcohol fund applicants occured on September 6, and interviews with social service fund applicants occured on September 20. CSFAB made its funding recordings during the October 4th and 18th meetings. 

The City Commission considered final funding recommendations at their November 21 legislative meeting. The following agencies were approved 2024 funding by the City Commission:

Grant agreements will be executed in December for those agencies awarded funding.

CSFAB Definitions and General Standards for Funding

CSFAB has adopted definitions and general standards to help guide annual funding recommendations. 

Past Funding

A link to historical SSAB/SAFAC Funding from 2012-2023 can be found here.

Questions about the application process? Contact Staff Liaison

Jared Wasinger, Assistant City Manager
Email Jared Wasinger

Additional Information

Interested in being a member of the Community Support Funds Advisory Board?


The board generally meets on the first and third Wednesday of the month from June through October at 5:30 p.m. at City Hall, 1101 Poyntz Avenue, in the City Commission Room. Meetings are televised on Cox Channel 3 and the City's website:

Current Members

  • Phil Mattox, CHAIR
    • Term expires: 12/31/26
  • Lisa A Sisley, VICE CHAIR
    • Term expires: 12/31/24
  • John Ball
    • Term expires: 12/31/24
  • Julie Hatesohl
    • Term expires: 12/31/26
  • Julie Keenan
    • Term expires: 12/31/25
  • Nancy Knopp
    • Term expires: 12/31/26
  • Tony Nichols
    • Term expires: 12/31/24
  • Mary Beth Reese
    • Term expires: 12/31/24
  • Missy Tener
    • Term expires: 12/31/25