Human Rights and Services Board

Human Rights and Services Board

The purpose of the Human Rights and Services Board is to recommend to the governing body, non-discrimination, equal opportunity and civil rights policies, procedures and programs which will protect against discrimination, promote the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of the city, and/or which will create a welcoming, diverse community. 

The duties of the board are set forth in the city's ordinance on civil rights. The board is comprised of seven members whom must live within the city limits of Manhattan.

​2021 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Task Force

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Task Force was appointed by the City Commission on January 5, 2021 and was charged to provide recommendations, which can be used by the community to create a more inclusive and welcoming community that includes cultural, racial, socio-economic, and ethnic diversity in the future growth of Manhattan. 

The Task Force focused its discussion in the following five areas: 
Economic Opportunity, Health and Wellness, Individual and Family Support, Livability, and Public Safety.  

Building on the work already happening in Manhattan and connecting to the Strategic Plan, the DEI Task Force developed many recommendations that would be most urgent and applicable to the Manhattan community’s continued DEI efforts.

Copy of Winter City of MHK Logo (1)

Staff Liaison

Robyn Dreher, Human Resources Specialist


Email Robyn Dreher

Riley County Police Department (RCPD) Liaison

 Officer Rachel Pate
Email Officer Pate

Additional Information

Interested in being a member of the Human Rights and Services Board?


The board meets quarterly, or more often as the board decides, at City Hall, 1101 Poyntz Ave.


  • Lakesha James, Chair
    • Term Expires: 03/09/25
  • Dana Vanlandingham- Vice Chair
    • Term Expires: 03/09/24
  • Carrie Andrade
    • Term expires: 03/09/24
  • James Fenton
    • Term expires: 03/09/26
  • Tucker Graff
    • Term expires: 03/09/24
  • Krystin Guggisberg
    • Term expires: 03/09/24
  • Carmen Schober
    • Term expires: 03/09/25