Show All Answers
To give public comment, residents are asked to wait for the public comment period to open and be recognized by the mayor. Residents should speak at the podium, giving their name and address before their comments.
If you need special accommodations prior to the meeting, contact the City Manager's Office at 785-587-2404.
A permit is NOT needed for above ground seasonal pools (taken down and stored during fall/winter); however, enclosing the pool still must meet code requirements as outlined in the pool brochure under Enclosure of Pools.
Permits are not required for fences 7 feet or shorter in height. Zoning regulations still must be met. For more information, contact the Zoning Department at 785-587-4506.
Generally, a fence may be placed along the rear and/or side property lines. Fences may not be in the front yard setback. (Please note: if you live on a corner lot, you likely have two front yards. Please contact Code Services for more information) Fences must be set back at least 25 feet behind the front property line. Before building a fence, please make sure you know where the property lines are located. The curb of the street is not your front property line. You can obtain a copy of the subdivision plat for your lot from the Riley County Register of Deeds Office at 785-537-6340. In some cases, you may need to hire your own surveyor to accurately locate property lines. Also, check with the city to make sure there are no drainage easements on the lot. Fences may not be placed in a drainage easement, or in a vision clearance triangle at street intersections. In addition, always call 800-DIG-SAFE to have the underground utilities marked before you start digging. If you have any questions concerning placement of a fence, please call the Code Services department at 785-587-4506 before starting construction. Depending on the height of the fence, you may need a building permit. Call Code Services at 785-587-4506 to find out if you need a permit.
The primary emphasis of the document is to provide long-range guidance to property owners, residents and decision makers on land use issues, such as where residential, commercial and industrial development should occur in the future, and at what densities. Manhattan and Riley County updated the Manhattan Urban Area Comprehensive Plan in a two-year joint planning process, culminating in adoption by the Manhattan Urban Area Planning Board, the Riley County Planning Board and the City and County Commissions in June 2003.
Each dollar of property taxes paid is split between several local entities.Read about how each dollar is split.
Each dollar of sales taxes paid is split among several local entities. Read about the details of how taxes are split.
A complete breakdown on special assessment debt and any other financial information for the City is available in the Annual Operating Budget and in the financial section of the Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR).
The City of Manhattan’s investment policy is tightly controlled by Kansas statutes (K.S.A. 12-1675 through 12-1677b) which limits the types and duration of any investment that the city may make. Although the city has been granted ‘expanded investment powers’ by the state of Kansas Pooled Money Investment Board (PMIB), these expanded powers only allow for an investment to be extended to four years instead of two as noted in the aforementioned statutes. The city bids each investment to all local banks and requires each investment to have proper collateral to ensure the safety and liquidity of that investment. The city’s investment portfolio is ‘laddered’ in a manner where an investment is maturing nearly every month. This practice allows the investment committee to make prudent decisions of when to reinvest funds based on operational and funding needs. Any questions regarding the city’s investment policy can be directed to the Assistant Finance Director at email@example.com
If you are already insured, review the amount of coverage you currently have and how much you need to maximize your security. Ask your landlord or property manager if you qualify for pre-approved discounts with their insurance company.
A deductible is the amount of money you pay before the insurance company pays you money for any losses; a deductible applies to your personal property coverage. For example, if your deductible is $250, and your computer cost $2,000 to replace, you would receive $1,750 from your insurance company if you have Replacement Cost Coverage. Generally, the higher the deductible, the lower your monthly premium will be. Your insurance company or agent can offer advice on how much liability coverage you may need.
Shop around for coverage. Most companies' policies provide the same minimum coverage, but many companies will provide extra protection for very little additional cost. No policy covers everything. Read your policy and talk to your agent. Don't wait until you have to file a claim to find out that your coverage is limited or that you're property isn't covered at all.
The City of Manhattan has an ISO rating of 2, which helps establish appropriate fire insurance premiums.
The brochure helps victims deal with the first 24 hours after a fire, insurance issues, property value and replacement of important documents and records. Call 785-587-4504 for your free brochure. Read more about what to do after a fire.
Our Code Services office licenses many trades. For a complete list and applications for those licenses, please visit our Licenses & Permits webpage.
For additional licensing information, please check with the State of Kansas Business Center.
The Mayor and the City Commissioners do not have offices at City Hall. Instead, they have their preferred contact information listed on their webpage. Access their webpages using the links provided below:
Learn about due process
Topeka Area: 785-575-1460
Claim specialists are available:Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.Thursday: 8 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.
For assistance, visit the Manhattan Workforce Center at 205 S. 4th St., Ste. 1A, Manhattan, KS 66502; or call them for further information at 785-539-5691.
New maps (found on this site as Preliminary DFIRMs) include the most current rainfall, elevation and other key data with the latest modeling technology to provide the most up-to-date picture of the area’s flood risk. The result: a better picture of the areas most likely to be impacted by flooding and a better foundation from which to make key decisions.
Through the National Flood Insurance Program, coverage can often be obtained at significant savings. The average cost for a flood insurance policy is approximately $600 per year. Further, homeowners may qualify for a Preferred Risk Policy that covers both a building and its contents for as little as $129 per year. Coverage for renters starts at just $49 a year. Talk to your insurance agent to determine the appropriate level of protection you need and the money savings options that are available.
Preferred Risk Policies, which start at just $129 a year, are only available for properties in moderate- to low-risk areas. However, recognizing the financial burden that being mapped into a high-risk area and having to purchase flood insurance can place on affected property owners, FEMA extended the eligibility period of the low-cost Preferred Risk Policies for two years for buildings that have been newly mapped into high-risk flood zones. In general, this cost-saving option is available to property owners whose buildings have a favorable flood loss history and who may or may not have received limited amounts of federal disaster assistance. The NFIP “Grandfathering” rules recognize policyholders who have built in compliance with the flood map in place at the time of construction or who have maintained continuous coverage. These rules allow such policyholders to benefit in the premium rating for their building. Flood insurance premiums should be calculated using the new map if it results in a lower premium.
Renewal of an Existing PolicyWhen determining the premium you will pay for flood insurance, an insurance agent will rate your flood insurance policy based on the flood map that is in effect on the date you purchase your policy. Flood insurance policies may then be renewed and still be rated based on the flood map in effect when the policy was initially rated as long as the flood insurance coverage is continuous and the building has not been altered in a manner that would remove this benefit. For example, if the building on the property is currently mapped in an X zone, you could purchase the policy before the flood maps are adopted and keep the lower rate associated with the X zone even after the new flood maps become effective. To help maintain this grandfathering benefit for the next owner, you may transfer the policy to them at the time of sale. An insurance agent can provide you with information about eligibility for the Preferred Risk Policy and the Two-Year Eligibility Extension.
Under this Grandfather rule, the property owner must provide proper documentation to the insurance company.
For more information on PRPs and the Grandfathering rule, you should contact your agent.
Manhattan's map update project is a joint effort with FEMA in cooperation with local associations and private sector partners.
The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) has extended the low-cost Preferred Risk Policy eligibility period for two years to properties newly mapped into a high-risk zone. In addition, there are “grandfathering” rules to recognize policyholders who have built in compliance with the flood map or who maintain continuous coverage.
Upon the effective date of the new maps, you may be eligible for a lower-cost Preferred Risk Policy (PRP). Through your insurance agent, you can easily avoid any gaps in your flood coverage and receive a refund of unused premium by converting your existing policy to a Preferred Risk Policy back to its last effective date.
For more information on the mapping project process, please visit knowyourfloodriskMHK.com.
Community service may be used to pay off your fines only; you will still be responsible for payment of court costs. You will receive credit of $6 per hour worked, with the exception of DUI fines, which will be worked off at the rate of $5 per hour, per State of Kansas requirements. You cannot work off any court ordered restitution. You must perform your community service at a Court approved agency in Manhattan. Credit will not be given for community service work performed at an agency that is not court approved. To perform community service, contact one of the court approved agencies and schedule your work with them. The supervisor must sign this Community Service Log Sheet for you to receive credit for your work. You can also perform community service for the City on the weekends. To sign up for weekend community service work with the city, contact Municipal Court at 785-587-2450. Community service work cannot be preformed to pay off fines and costs owed through a diversion agreement without prior approval from the City Prosecutor. If your case gets turned over to our collection agency, you no longer have the option to work off fines through community service.
Your “plea” may follow a “plea negotiation” with the City Prosecutor, either on your own or through your attorney. The City Prosecutor is not required to conduct plea negotiations with you. If you and the prosecutor make a plea agreement, you promise to enter a plea of guilty or no contest in exchange for the City Prosecutor requesting a specific punishment. The Judge is not bound by your plea agreement.
Article 14, Sec. 126.3.
If the Municipal Court is on a delayed schedule or closed for inclement weather, Court staff will reschedule any impacted appearances and/or docket for the next available time and notify each individual.
If an individual who is scheduled to appear in Court cannot appear due to inclement weather, the individual shall contact the Court prior to the scheduled appearance. Inclement weather or school closings do not automatically “excuse” an individual’s failure to appear.
As of June 2, 2019 at noon, the evacuation advisory was lifted, and we are back to a high water advisory. Call the flood information hotline number at 785-587-4526 for assistance.
The American Red Cross did have shelter location open at Westview Church at 615 Gillespie Drive during the evacuation advisory. Now that the evacuation advisory has been lifted and we are back to a high water advisory, the shelter will close at 10:00 a.m. on June 3, 2019.
Residents of projected flood affected areas may receive one or all of the following messages over time depending on in which evacuation zone they live:
A. High Water Advisory - Notifies residents to prepare for potential high water that may impact homes, businesses or nearby roads. (Low risk)
B. Evacuation Advisory - Notifies residents that they may need to evacuate in the near future because high water is expected to impact homes, businesses, and nearby roads. (Moderate risk)
C. Evacuation Order - A notification of Immediate Danger. Residents are advised to evacuate because water will severely impact homes, businesses, and nearby roads. For security reasons, a curfew will be established. (High risk)
If you are not home, information will be left on your door.
Emergency personnel wearing an official uniform will make notifications. If you question the legitimacy of the people at your door, always ask for an official government ID.
For security reasons, residents or property owners that evacuate early should not identify their property as being evacuated. Evacuation teams will still go door to door and post an evacuation order on vacant structures. Police have increased patrols in the area for safety reasons.
Even small releases can have major impacts to areas downstream that are already flooded. The US Army Corps of Engineers manages all of the waterways in the US. Releases from Tuttle Creek Dam are controlled by the outlet works and spillway gates, there are no "uncontrolled releases. Releases will be adjusted and recalculated around the clock. The lake is doing what it was designed to do — store flood water as long as possible until it can be safely released.
The County, City, and areas downstream will receive official notice from the Corps of Engineers of any significant release of water. Emergency managers will provide as much notice to the public as soon as information is available. Properties downstream could be affected within hours or days depending on the release amount.
Do not turn off natural gas at the meter. Only emergency responders and qualified service personnel should turn the natural gas meter valve on or off. More information is available on the Kansas Gas Service website.
To view 1993 flood map from the Riley County GIS website click the Layers tab at the top, select Hydrology from the drop down menu, then select 1993 Flood.
A 1% flood is commonly referred to as a 100-year flood and a 0.2% flood is commonly referred to as a 500-year flood. However, this does not mean there will only be one flood of that magnitude in that time frame. The 0.2% chance identifies that area that has a 0.2% chance of flooding each year. The 1% chance identifies the areas that have a 1% chance of flooding each year. Both of these are shown on the Riley County GIS website (see answer for mapping). The 1993 flood closely reflected the 0.2% chance flood modeling on the FEMA floodplain maps.
There are no plans to change the flood mapping zones at this time by FEMA.
There are several locations in Riley County and Pottawatomie County for residents and businesses in the flood prone areas can get up to 15 sandbags.
Hardware stores also sell sandbags, but may have a limited supply of bags. Sand is still available at local outlets.
Emergency Managers recommend these sandbags be used to temporarily block doors, garage doors and window wells. We do not recommend building sandbag walls. Sandbags should be used to delay small amounts of water while belongings are being removed. Sandbags do not keep standing or rising water out for an extended time and even with short term use, may require some kind of trash/water pump.
Volunteer efforts are being coordinated through the Flint Hills Volunteer Center flinthillsvolunteercenter.com . Please contact them if you would like to help.
Questions about floodplain regulations should be directed to Steve Higgins (785) 537-6332 in Riley County outside Manhattan and Chad Bunger (785-587-2412) in Manhattan.
Questions about flood insurance should be directed to an insurance agent or FEMA.
Flooding effects along Wildcat Creek is dependent on the elevations of the Kansas River and Wildcat Creek, not Tuttle Creek Lake or the Big Blue River. However, flood conditions downstream on those waterways make Wildcat Creek more vulnerable to flash flooding because large amounts of rainfall cannot exit the channel as quickly.
Following a flood event, the City of Manhattan will inspect homes and businesses in the City limits for safe and habitable conditions. If the property is located in the City’s Special Flood Hazard Area (the definition can be found in Section 10-105), a detailed inspection of the building will occur. If the damage to the building meets or exceeds the definition of being substantially damaged (also found in Section 10-105), the building must conform to the Floodplain Regulations.
Generally speaking, if a home was found to be substantially damaged (damaged 50% or more than the fair market of the home or damaged by 2 floods in a 10-year period that caused an average of 25% or more damage of its fair market value), and was built lower than today’s base flood elevation; the house would need to be elevated. This regulation is one of the City’s higher standard floodplain regulations to break the cycle of a flood, repair, and repeat and to make current properties safer from flooding.
Westar will only turn power off if emergency management requests it, if Westar employees identify risk of injury, or if a customer requests it.
Residents should examine their property upon return to identify if any damage occurred, particularly in basements. Please call 785-587-4526 if you find any damage. If you encounter any hazardous conditions call 911.
A curfew from sundown to sunrise the following day was approved by the Riley County Commission for any designated evacuation areas.
Riley County GIS has made available a map of all road closures in the county. Here is the link: https://rcitgis.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=37eff9b0d34e415b82bb9a3654a9f983
The Riley County Health Department recommends the following
Eliminate Standing Water
Keep Mosquitos out of Your Home
Wear long-sleeved shirts and long pants when outdoors.
*These are given for your information only. RCHD cannot and does not recommend or endorse any brand name products
For more information, visit: http://www.cdc.gov/features/stopmosquitos
August 1, 2019.
Sec. 19-61 defines massage therapy as “a service involving the external manipulation or pressure of soft tissue for therapeutic purposes. It is the application of a system of structured touch, pressure, movement and holding of the soft tissue of the human body in which the primary intent is to relieve pain, improve circulation, relieve stress, increase relaxation and enhance or restore the health and well-being of the client. The practice of massage therapy includes complementary methods, including the external application of water, heat, cold, lubrication, salt scrubs, body wraps or other topical preparations; and electromechanical devices that mimic or enhance the actions possible by the hands.”
Sec. 19-82(b) establishes the fee for a new massage therapist application at $75. This fee is the same for the renewal application of a massage therapist license.
Yes, Sec. 19-83 requires an applicant to have at least one of the four educational requirements in order to be eligible for a massage therapist license. If the applicant does not meet at least one of the educational requirements, there are three substitute requirements that must all be met in order to be eligible. See Sec. 19-83 for those specific requirements.
Yes, Sec. 19-84 requires upon renewal of a biennial (two-year) massage therapist license, the massage therapist applicant provide proof with the renewal application that the applicant has received a minimum of twelve (12) hours (50 minutes per hour) of professional massage therapy continuing education offered through an accredited institution, massage therapist school, or nationally recognized massage therapy association. Continuing education credit will be awarded for each hour of training completed in the theory and clinical application of massage, clinical business practices, hygiene, record keeping, professional ethics, and other similar courses.
No, Sec. 19-81 states that a massage therapist license is not required for a student enrolled in a massage therapy program at an accredited institution during the time such student is completing a clinical requirement for graduation and is practicing massage therapy while under the direct supervision of a massage therapist who holds a valid license under this article. Direct supervision requires the presence of the city-licensed massage therapist to be on the same premises as the student providing massage therapy services.
Yes, Sec. 19-72, requires the applicant for a massage therapist license or massage therapy establishment license be subjected to a criminal background investigation upon submitting a completed application for a new or renewed license. It is also required in the event a massage therapy establishment licensee submits a complete application to change the location of their establishment.
Sec. 19-73, states the city clerk shall not issue a massage therapist or massage therapy establishment license if any of the following conditions exist: the applicant...
Sec. 19-72 establishes the fee for a new or renewal massage therapy establishment application at $200.
No, Sec. 19-72 does not require operators to pay a fee or be subject to a background check. However, operators are required to provide information and make certain statements under oath regarding any prior issues with massage therapy licensure and/or any prior criminal history.
Sec. 19-61 defines ‘operators’ as a massage therapy establishment licensee; any person with a financial interest in the partnership, corporation, limited liability company, or other type of organization that owns or operates the massage therapy establishment license, if such person who has more than a ten percent interest in such entity; or any person whom the licensee designates on the massage therapy establishment license as a person who may be principally in charge of a massage therapy establishment at any given time, including but not limited to a manager. An operator must be on the premises and supervise the massage therapy establishment at all times during business hours.
Yes, Sec. 19-76 establishes the requirements for establishments as home occupation.
No, Sec. 19-72 and Sec. 19-73 do not require the applicant for a massage therapy establishment license have a massage therapist license.
Yes. If a person wishes to practice massage therapy in Manhattan and has a massage therapy establishment in Manhattan (including in-home residential establishments), that person must fill out both applications and pay the required fees for both. If the applications are received within the past thirty (30) days of each other, the applicant shall only pay the cost of one criminal background investigation, if any.
Sec. 19-64 requires that if the location and/or name of your massage therapy establishment changes, an application must re-submitted at least fourteen (14) days prior to the effective date of the change, including applicable fees, and the new premises will be inspected by Code Services.
If any other information provided in the original application is going to change, the licensee must provide those changes at least fourteen (14) days prior to the effective date of the change. The city clerk shall review the change in information for compliance with this article and notify the licensee whether the change is approved or denied.
Yes, Sec. 19-75 establishes the operational regulations for a massage therapy establishment.
The Riley County Police Department (“RCPD”) enforces the noise ordinance. To report a noise complaint, call the RCPD’s non-emergency number at (785) 537-2112. A dispatcher will take your complaint, and the RCPD will investigate your noise complaint to determine whether a violation has occurred.
If your noise complaint relates to barking dogs or noisy animals, the RCPD may forward your noise complaint to the City’s Animal Control officers.
The ordinance does not require the RCPD officer to give you a warning, and the RCPD officer may issue you a ticket if you violate the noise ordinance. The RCPD officer can issue the ticket to any person who is making, continuing, causing or allowing a noise violation.
No. The City does not have a noise permit. Any activity at your property must comply with the noise ordinance.
The City’s ordinance sets forth the noise restrictions and rules.
Any person within the City limits who has four or more employees, who sells real estate or rents housing with more than four units, or who offers goods, services, facilities or accommodations to the public must comply with the amendment. The governmental entity of the City of Manhattan must also comply with the amendment.
However, the ordinance does not apply to a religious organization; a nonprofit fraternal or social association or corporation; a school, university or school district; the Riley County Police Department; or another governmental entity.
The Amendment does not require any employer or public accommodation to provide a separate facility for any individual or to otherwise physically alter any existing restroom or changing facility.
The Amendment does not prohibit any employer or public accommodation from addressing issues that may arise from any person’s misuse of restrooms and changing facilities that are not based upon discrimination.
If you believe that you have been discriminated against on the basis of race, sex, familial status, military status, disability, religion, age, color, national origin or ancestry, you or your attorney can contact the EEOC or the Kansas Human Rights Commission.
No. The investigating officer is the City Attorney or his/her designee and the hearing officer is the Municipal Judge. The only other involved persons are the aggrieved person, respondent and any potential witnesses or legal counsel.
You may appeal to the City’s Hearing Officer. The City’s Hearing Officer will review the evidence from the City’s investigator and each party and make a determination of whether discrimination occurred. The Hearing Officer’s decision can be appealed to the District Court.
The ordinance is in effect as of November 1, 2016. The City can only accept discrimination complaints on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity for discrimination that occurred after the ordinance’s effective date.
In addition to this written notice, the city sends out email notification of the applicant’s neighborhood meeting via the In Touch email notification system to all individuals who have subscribed through the city’s website.
If the application is complete, it is also assigned to a staff planner in Community Development and scheduled for a public hearing with either the Manhattan Urban Area Planning Board or Board of Zoning Appeals as follows:
In addition, approximately one week prior to the public hearing date, the city emails the meeting agenda to anyone who has subscribed through the In Touch email notification system on the city’s website for either the Manhattan Urban Area Planning Board or the Manhattan Board of Zoning Appeals. Planning Board agendas contain links to agenda items that can be downloaded.
Write:Community Development1101 Poyntz Ave.Manhattan, KS 66502Or email the staff planner assigned to the project
This is often referred to as “due-process." Due process requires any information (written, verbal, or graphic) submitted or used to base a decision on must be presented for everyone to hear and see within the formal public hearing process, and not in private one-on-one discussions with Advisory Board or City Commission members outside of the public hearing process. Because of this due process requirement, Advisory Board members and/or City Commissioners may tell you that they don’t want to talk about the project outside of the public hearing and they may encourage you to go to the public hearing and/or submit written comments. If an Advisory Board and/or City Commission member decides to let you speak with them about a proposal, they are obligated to disclose the substance of your conversation at the public hearing.
You may also report a stormwater concern with our online Report It! feature.
You may also report your concern online with our feature.